Discarding Old Clothes, Sheets, Towels…

Yesterday, while shopping at the mall with my daughter for a last minute birthday present, I heard a PSA that caught my attention.  I was in H & M,  and the woman talked about bagging up old clothes, in no specific condition, and bringing them in to H & M for recycling.  They will give you a 15% off voucher to use on your next purchase.  I grabbed the nearest manager and asked for clarity…the policy is that they take clothes in ANY condition, because they send them out for textile recycling.  This is amazing news!

Past posts have talked about cleaning out closets and cabinets, and I always get nervous when people talk about a purge.  Purges happen when you start to think your closet is a little too full, or you feel, like me, that you do a ton of laundry and you just aren’t excited about what you’re folding.  They also happen when a pile of something undesirable gets so big, you get sick of it and just throw it out.  For me, that pile is a garbage bag filled with orphan socks.  So let me offer a list of what to do about these things:

Sheets and towels in any condition…find a local pet shelter.  I volunteer at a dog shelter and we love getting old baby blankets, towels, and twin bed sheets.  We line the bottom of the dog’s cages with them.  So comfy!

Nice clothes (suits, dresses, blouses, anything someone could wear to a job or interview that you don’t wear, but are in good condition)…find a local family shelter and see if they take clothes directly.  They may also have a consignment shop associated with them.  Donate there.

Clothes in good condition…Salvation Army or St. Vincent de Paul.  They turn around and sell them.

Ripped and stained clothes, towels, sheets, mismatched socks, etc…bag them up and take them to H & M.  Then happy shopping knowing absolutely none of your discards will see a landfill!

Published by Kate Scheck

Interior Design Student

Leave a comment